azngunpla

New Blog Theme + Gundam 00 Movie Thoughts

Posted by Tom on January 4, 2011

So I thought I’d make some changes around here. The old theme was really for me to get used to blogging, but I didn’t like how it would realign the images. I think this theme will suit my needs for a while.

Today was not so cool; it’s my birthday, but we go back to school today DX
I didn’t get much besides money and a HG Hi-Nu GPB Colors.

Oh and I finished watching the Gundam 00 movie. Thoughts after the jump.

So before I give you my thoughts I thought I should tell you that I’ve watch this movie several times already. Two or three times raw, one time subbed by Hadena, and two times subbed by BSS. It’s quite amazing how your enjoyment level can depend on the sub. Anyways, I’m pretty sure everyone can now search up the plot of the movie, so I’ll give my final thoughts.

In my opinion, it’s pretty good. It’s not the best, but it’s not the worst. I think that the overall theme that the movie is trying to give is understand. The way the storytelling isn’t really the best way to carry out the theme, but overall, it’s there and if you look hard you can appreciated what this movie is trying to say, instead of another mecha movie that blows shit up… which this movie also has.

It does has it’s questionable moments, like is aliens really necessary in a gundam series. I think it works in this case, but I’m not so sure if any newer series can use it. Speaking on aliens, I felt that the back story of the ELS could have been explained alot better. But I’m pretty sure that can be explain in a manga side story in Gundam Ace or something.

The animations and quality is pretty good. You have a lot of pew pew action here and there, mostly by Zabanya. The animations for the Braves are pretty nice, they change from MS to MA to MS. It so good. No complaints from this department. Although, I’m not so sure if it’s the media player I’m using, but this subbed version has some faint background music and sound effect. =/

Honestly, the only thing I was disappointed with, besides the way the story was told, was the ending. Many fans will be disappointed and confused at the ending. However, I can see what they were going for, you know, with the theme being about understanding one other. Another was that 00 Quanta had little screen time despite the fact it’s the supposed lead Gundam of this movie.

And after a wall of text, here’s some pics on some moments of the movie. This is the BSS sub version I might add.

 

Most Badass Ahead Evar!!!!!

The Gundam Meisters are not amused...

How Super Robot like...

Get owned by Saji. lol

Against bullets, humanoid ELS are much stronger then zombies...

This guy still hasn't died yet.

The mecha star of this movie...

Yes, Billy said that... And that's not Sumeragi...

No longer is Strike Freedom the king of Beam Spamming. ;P

Ian's reaction at Mileina's confession to Tieria. xD

LOL...

 

8 Responses to “New Blog Theme + Gundam 00 Movie Thoughts”

  1. chubbybots said

    Happy belated bday man ^^ I also watched this movie several times. And I think the ending is actually fitting in this case. The flower is a symbol of peace which setsuna achieved by trying to understand the ELS. Probably that is why Quanta did not fight much in the end.

    • Tom said

      Thanks man. While I was upset that Quanta didn’t didn’t do much, it was probably intentional that way, that fighting isn’t always the way to go.

  2. Setsunator said

    i watched the Hadena sub… it is worst sub ever(wrong name Zabanya=Sabania and wrong timing) and they cut the last scene after credits so i still dont know the ending yet =_=ll

  3. I think this is one of the best movie!

  4. meh, didn’t like it :( I’ll probably do a post on it later on…

    really liked Graham’s team tho ^^ awesome action! and I was like, wtf was alexander corner doing in the movie @.@ and wth is with the manga like illustration at the raiser sword! Turns out it was a movie in a movie lol -.-

  5. Sunrise need to release a side story about the formation of the Solbraves. They at least get the ‘most awesomesauce dynamic entry’ award for out of the blue helping out the Meisters in the movie…

    BTW, might watch this again once the English Dubs arrive (got bad jives against currrent Jap fansubs; missed the flawlessnes of the Darksoul subs…

Leave a Reply

 
