azngunpla

MG 00 Qan[t] Finished!

Posted by Tom on June 6, 2011

Finally, 00 Qan[t] is finally finished. I though I was going to run out of patience with this kit, since not a lot of things really went my way. Mostly the white paint was just a really pain to paint on. I may have to change my methods of painting white. Advices are much appreciated.

Went to Best Buy today to look for something, and I couldn’t help but buy this Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex Complete Collection. They didn’t have 2nd gig, which was kinda disappointing, but what ever. This is one of my favorite animes (besides the Gundam series) of all times. Anyways, I’ll try to get a review for Qan[t] real soon, but E3 is currently way too distracting. ^^;

16 Responses to “MG 00 Qan[t] Finished!”

  1. lol said

    I prefer the original design colors of the Quan[t] over that of the final movie version, nice to see that you colored yours similarly :D

  2. zoidiect said

    nice coloring :D and i like the way on how you tweaked the coloring ^^ keep it up!

  3. tsukinari said

    Very nice! the result is pretty awesome.. *thumbs up!*

  4. aptkane said

    How do you paint your white Tom? Usually I use Tamiya Grey Primer first, then air brush Taimiya Gloss White X-1.

    • Tom said

      Spray on Valspar Gray Primer, then spray paint on Tamiya Spray Pure White or Krylon Gloss White. Spray on first coat, let dry, spray on second coat, let dry, and then final coat, and if it’s not white enough, I’ll spray on more layers. I’ll admit though that the Krylon’s Gloss paint has a sticky feel to it when you spray on multiple coats.

      • aptkane said

        Okay, well, I’m not sure about that Valspar primer. Are you able to get a hold of Tamiya primer? Or maybe Mr. Surfacer 1200? That would work far better.

        I keep forgetting you don’t have an airbrush, but that’s fine, Tamiya should work better than Krylon, which I believe is an industrial paint, not intended for hobby use. So, spraying light, multiple coats of Tamiya sounds good – what part frustrates you? Just the numerous coats?

        I’ll tell you what though – I’m looking at a new Airbrush, if I end up picking it up, I’ll give you mine – its a nice, dual action brush. You can get cans of Air for the time being so you don’t have to spend a lot of $$ on a compressor. I’ll keep you posted.

        • Tom said

          It’s probably the multiple coats of whites I have to paint. While I agree with Tamiya paints being a lot better for hobby painting, Krylon’s give a bigger can for a cheaper price. ^^;

          Thanks for the offer, but I have an airbrush in mind, but you can email me later if you want.

  5. chubbybots said

    Ah looking forward to the photoshoot! Actually for white, most of the time i find that you don’t really have to paint it. Just a simple top coat will make it nice and flat :P

  6. hey it’s great! i always love mg qant design :D

  7. canopy said

    Hooo, interesting color Tom, so will there be any action pictures? I always love to see the Custom Colors Gunplas in action. :D :D

Leave a Reply

 
