azngunpla

New Gundam Series is called Gundam AGE!?!

Posted by Tom on June 9, 2011

So that’s the name of the show? I think it could have cooler name, but now that I think of it, Gundam Seed is a pretty dumb name too. I’m not going to say anything yet because there really isn’t much information, but there are some designs shown, and I admit, they look kinda super robot, so is this going to be a super robot Gundam that some people want. I wouldn’t mind, it’ll be quite refreshing. :D

Here are some info that we do know:
“This new Gundam TV Series will be promoted at this year’s Tokyo Toy Show 2011 (June 16th – 19th). I am sure some gunpla & toys will be making their appearance. =)

More info from AnimeNewsNetwork:
Level 5 to Help Create Gundam AGE Anime This Fall
Corocoro Comic to also run manga of story with 3 generations of main leads
 The July issue of Shogakukan‘s Corocoro Comic magazine is announcing next Wednesday that the game developer Level 5 (Inazuma Eleven, Danbōru Senki) is working on all aspects of the new Gundam AGE anime for release this fall. In particular, Level 5 President Akihiro Hino is in charge of the story. There will also be a Gundam AGE manga running in the magazine.

The new series will have three generations of “father, child, and descendant” as the lead characters. The main characters pilot the Gundam unit to fight against an unknown attacking enemy (UE) and save Earth in a “One Hundred Year War” — an apparent homage to the One Year War of the first Gundam series.
The first main character is Furitto Asuno, who developed the Gundam AGE-1 mobile suit (humanoid mobile weapon) equipped with the AGE System (a self-adapting computer). The second main character is Asemu Asuno, Furitto’s child. The third main character is Kio Asuno, Furitto’s descendant who inherits the Gundam. The Gundam AGE-1 can be augmented as the Gundam AGE-1 Titus for more power, or as the Gundam AGE-1 Sparrow for more speed.
Other characters include Emily, Furitto’s friend since he was 7. Guruudekku is a Commander in the Earth Federation Forces and the captain of the battleship Diva. Mireesu is a Lieutenant (junior grade) in the Federation Forces aboard the Diva.
Tied into the anime will be “four ultimate projects” in the works: manga, hobby (model kits and figures), games, and cards.”

From what I’ve read, it looks like to be more of a homage to the orignal MSG, kinda like Seed, but much different. The lead Gundam looks kinda plain if you ask me. And for all you dumb f**ks out there, no, this Gundam series won’t have cards in the show like freaking Yu-Gi-Oh! It’s just going to be promotional items that will get the young ones interested in the show. Can’t you guys read the “Tied into the anime will be “four ultimate projects” in the works: manga, hobby (model kits and figures), games, and cards.” It’s as and if you guys can’t read or something… especially you diehard UC fans.

I can’t really say anything else about the characters, other then how the green haired kid looks annoying… Overall, I’m somewhat excited. The part where Sunrise is aiming this at younger kits kinda killed some excitement, but I’m going to wait and watch the damn thing before I make my final call. It maybe aimed to new audiences, but it that’s anime in general. Old fans need to shut up and learn to accept that.

It’ll be airing this fall, so get your wallets ready for all that Gunpla that will come very quick. XD

Info and pics from Gundam Guy.

16 Responses to “New Gundam Series is called Gundam AGE!?!”

  1. Here’s just my thoughts on the MS…

    Base mode: Too thin, makes Exia look buff; shiled looks like a ripoff from the 00 Raiser’s
    Titus mode (Red one): A cross between Maxter and Volt Gundams?
    Sparrow Mode (Blue one): Looks good if it gets a LOT of melee weapons… XD

    Just my cent…

    • Tom said

      Alright, I deleted your second comment. XD
      The MS looks plain for me, however I can see where they get some influences. Isn’t the blue more for extra speed? Or something like that?

  2. Hikarunu said

    Super Sentai Gandamu? no thanks

  3. aptkane said

    Yeah…I’m not sure what to make of any of it. I was hoping for a return to more militaristic/realistic premises, and this doesn’t look like that at all. This looks more like a spin off of OO Gundam (which anyone who knows me, knows I don’t like OO) – so…yeah.

    Now, on further reflection, I know that Seed/Seed Destiny was supposed to be a “remake” of MSG/ZG, and 00 Was a new take on the W story, so this might be the new take on X.

    I don’t like the design of the Gundam though…what’s with the Thruster right in the middle of the chest??

  4. maknaedik said

    My only complaint, design wise, is Titus. The weird blue in his chest retains, which looks out of place for me. It should have been red too.

    Story wise, well, we don’t know anything yet. Just don’t give us ALIENS or else T_T My guess on how they’ll show the three generations is by using what Kamen Rider Kiva did, though that showed two generations only. They are all young so that could be very possible.

    • Tom said

      I do think the blue looks out of place in Titus mode. I have a weird feeling it may have aliens, but let’s see a trailer first before bashing this series.

      • maknaedik said

        The only thing we can bash, that is if you’re against, is that it’s geared towards kids. Honestly, I don’t care if it is because I’m young at heart, LOL! But seriously, we really need a trailer. Maybe they’ll show something upon the announcement this afternoon. We better stay tuned at GG’s posts or watch the streaming.

        • Tom said

          I don’t really mind that this is aimed at younger audiences. I mean, that’s how you get into this great hobby of Gunpla! As long as the story and action is still kick ass, then that will be fine. Unicorn will be the “mature” side of things, so I’m satisfied. ^^

  5. Just hope this doesn’t go well. . . if it does. . . we might seeing it for AGES!!!!!! :P

  6. bd77 said

    Yet another Gundam series I can safely graze like a boss. XD

    Was hoping for something like Sentinel or Crossbone, but… meh.

  7. Tom said

    I actually wouldn’t mind Advance of Zeta being animated.

  8. So far from what I am seeing it might be ok.

Leave a Reply

 
